Uncategorized

The very first.

 

Well Hi!

Today (okay not really- a few days ago), I decided I was going to start my blog back up. I did one for a while when we first had Kilo, almost 5 years ago! & then I quit. Truth is, I go crazy if I don’t have people to share my thoughts with. I have too much bottled up in my little brain that I can hardly handle on my own. Ya get me?

So, mostly this blog will cover happenings in our life, and probably a whole bunch of shenanigans that I’m trying to work through. My brain needs help sometimes, and getting my thoughts laid out on a sheet of digital paper helps me figure out this question: “What is life?!”  Because I ask myself that question all the days.

I mean, you know how…  on a rare occasion… you wake up and you’re like “today feels like a regular ol’ nice-ish day, I think I’ll make some coffee and things will be good.” but then your kids wake up and suddenly they are all in need of every ounce of energy that you had when you first woke up?? Kid(s):”Mooom, I’m hungry!”, Mooom can I have some candy?!, “Mom, we haven’t eated dinner yet.” Me: “I know you’re hungry, I’ll make breakfast soon.”, “No, no candy! You just woke up for heavens sake!”, “No, we haven’t eaten dinner yet…. what meal do we have in the morning? Breakfast. Say it with me…. breakfasssst.” (in my mind and admittedly outwardly I’m feeling a tad insane.) So, you see? And that is only about the first 3 minutes of each of my days.

And these are the times where I’m questioning “What is life?! (and why do I always feel crazy and unworthy of where I’m at?!)”

 I love each day, but at the same time I feel as if I might need to run and hide in order to keep my sanity in it’s padded box. So, I need you people. I need people to laugh with when my kid dumps juice on the floor (for the 3rd time that day), so I can realize it’s not as big of a deal as it seems in the moment. People to tell me that their life is crazy too, because sometimes we need to hear it… and to hope to encourage anyone who reads, that even when life is just whacky….. there is always hope for a new day.

Even if no one even gives a jank about this blog, I feel I at least have a place that I can record randomocities, and get my thoughts out. I hope it is a place where I can be myself, at the same time as being a light for the God who saved me, and cares for me in each and every strange moment of life.

Before I go… I’ll give you a quick explanation of the name of my blog: Birdy under His wings. Because I know it’s kinda odd if unexplained. The name is personal to me, obviously. Firstly, “Birdy” is me. Really. Growing up I was called “Birdy” by a few family members, but especially by my aunt Julie. I loved it as a small girl, and I still love it now. Just takes me back to being a kid again. “under His wings”: Yes, the H is capitalized for a reason. I capitalize the H in “He” when I am addressing my God. Specifically this name comes from a couple verses I loved as a young teenager, struggling with life and my faith. They brought me through some dark moments.

One is the end of Psalm 17:8 which simply says “Hide me in the shadow of Your wings.” I love the short, simple beauty in this. But the next one is my favorite.

“He who dwells in the Shelter of the Most High (God), will abide in the shadow of the Almighty. I will say to the Lord, “My refuge and my fortress, my God in whom I trust!” For it is He who delivers you from the snare of the trapper and from the deadly pestilence. He will cover you with his feathers (pinions), and under His wings you may seek refuge; His faithfulness is a shield and bulwark (a defensive wall).” (Psalm 91:1-4)

I mean, guys…. I don’t know if there is anything more comforting than that verse right there. God literally shelters us, and hides us close to him under His feathers… if we let Him. I am a Birdy under His wings…..

I lied, that wasn’t a “quick explanation”. But I hope it was worth it. Thanks for reading. 🙂

Britny


The beautiful houndstooth & flower background I use for my blog is not my own. I am using it with permission with attribution.

<a href=”https://www.freepik.com/free-photos-vectors/background”>Background vector created by Nadezhda_grapes – Freepik.com</a>

3 thoughts on “The very first.

  1. I give a jank!!!! Mommyhood can for sure be overwhelming but baby . . . you and GOD got this!!!! Glad your blogging!! I think it can be a tremendous help!! Kiss those juice tippin boys for me!!!! MWA

    Like

  2. I just Love you my birdy….. you’ve always been the sweetest most faithful girl…. and I love your strength and faith…. I have watched you grow into an amazing wife, mother, and one of my closest friends…. I love that you’ve created a place for yourself… it is important these things in your brain…. thank you so much for sharing….

    Like

    1. I love you too Auntie! Sometimes I get overwhelmed with the thoughts in my head… I thought maybe this would help… and if it helps anyone else at the same time, I’m thankful to get the chance to encourage others who can relate. I love you! 💙

      Like

Leave a comment